About-Face AwardsThe About-Face Award recognizes secondary students who have made a significant turn around in their behavior, academic achievement and attendance in school. One student from each middle and high school in the district receive the award annually at the Awards Program. Students are nominated by their school and receive a medallion for their success.

This event is made possible through the sponsorship of TECO Energy.

On Tuesday, April 5, 2016, the 22nd annual About-Face Awards recognized 50 middle and high school student honorees.

The keynote speaker was Winter Haven City Manager Deric C. Feacher. The Polk County native began work for the City of Winter Haven in 2001. Since then, he served as assistant to the city manager, support services director and Winter Haven’s first public information officer. Feacher is a graduate of Bethune-Cookman University and holds a bachelor’s degree in political science, with a minor in public administration. He is the first minority and one of the youngest men to be named to the position of Winter Haven city manager.

Other special guests included Polk Education Foundation Executive Director Susan Copeland, and Polk State College Winter Haven campus Provost Martha Santiago.

The About-Face Awards are sponsored by TECO. TECO Community Affairs Manager Cindy Price served as the emcee.

About-Face Event Program View the 2016
About-Face Awards
Event Program


2016 Honorees

Auburndale High - Kerline Metelus

Bartow High - Kali Walker

Bartow Middle - Denzil Alleyne

Berkley Accelerated Middle - Damian Wade

Boone Middle - Ahmesia Marlow

Compass Middle Charter - Willie Kisling-Darby

Crystal Lake Middle - Kalidra McKinley

Daniel Jenkins Academy - Nicholas Boatwright

Denison Middle - Jasmin Villanueva

Donald E. Woods Opportunity Center - Joseph Carter

Dundee Ridge Middle Academy - Chase Green

East Area Adult - Hayden Assante

Fort Meade Middle/Senior - Silvia Santiago Aguirre

Gause Academy/Middle - Silas Joshua Mercer Jr.

Gause Academy/High - Angel Taylor

George Jenkins High - Tyler Gallagher

Haines City High - Jaquarius Fowler

Jewett Middle Academy - Steven Stanlick-Brewer

Karen M. Siegel Academy - Emily Sinclair

Kathleen High - Kelvon Booker

Kathleen Middle - Yunor Francisco Jose

Lake Alfred-Addair Middle - Kimora M. Kinsler

Lake Gibson High - David Luis Gonzalez

Lake Marion Creek Middle - Angel Algarin

Lake Region High - Herlinda Sanchez

Lakeland High - Tyler Bivens

Lakeland Highlands Middle - Enrique Palomar

Lawton Chiles Middle Academy - T'Kouri Smart

McKeel Academy of Technology - Joshua Park

Mulberry High - Kahari Love

Mulberry Middle - Jessica Bland

Our Children's Academy - Austin Ramirez

Polk Acceleration Academy - Brian Acosta Rivera

Polk State Collegiate High - George Bing

Ridge Community High - Shakeir Jones

Rochelle School of the Arts - Aaron Webb

Roosevelt Academy - Vincent Leo

Sleepy Hill Middle - Daniella Bartolome

South McKeel Academy - Moriah Dempsey

Southwest Middle - Areiyl Jones

Stambaugh Middle - Devin Hublar

Summerlin Academy - Jacklyn Giffin

Tenoroc High - Brandie Boles

Traviss Career Center - Gavin Sanchez

Union Academy - Abigail Lynn Brabant

West Area Adult - Tristian Westberry

Westwood Middle - Salvador Boyzo

Winter Haven High - Corey V. Stanley Jr.