More ways to keep up with the latest news from Polk County Public Schools:

Outstanding School Volunteer of the Year Awards Program Scheduled for May 11

May 5, 2017

The commitment of Polk County Public Schools’ volunteers will be celebrated Thursday, May 11, 2017 during the annual Outstanding School Volunteer of the Year Awards program.
The event will begin at 7:30 a.m. at the Bartow Civic Center, 2250 South Floral Ave. Members of the media are welcome to attend; however, food is limited to invited guests only. The program starts at 8 a.m.

The award ceremony acknowledges the crucial role school volunteers play in students’ lives. Polk County Public Schools is the eighth-largest school district in Florida, with more than 150 school sites and over 100,000 students. With so many schools and students to serve, volunteers dedicate their valuable time to accomplish important tasks and help students reach their educational and career goals.

During the ceremony, volunteer awards will be given at the elementary and secondary level in the following categories: Outstanding Adult Volunteer of the Year, Outstanding Youth Volunteer of the Year and Outstanding Senior Volunteer of the Year. The award recipients will be chosen from the Volunteers of the Year selected from their respective schools.

The Outstanding Volunteer of the Year Awards Program is sponsored by MIDFLORIDA Credit Union. Gift sponsors include Lowe’s, Polk Academies and Polk State College. For more information about volunteering, visit  or call 863.534.0636.

Please see nominees below:

Elementary Schools

Alta Vista Elementary
Carol Cramp

Alturas Elementary
Caroline Stinson

Auburndale Central Elementary
Julieanna Wilkerson

Bartow Elementary Academy
Bette Orwig

Ben Hill Griffin Jr. Elementary
Noemi Cruz

Bethune Academy
Tiffany Akins

Blake Academy
Sherry Hudson

Brigham Academy
Lori Griffin

Caldwell Elementary
Phillippe Pontbriant

Carlton Palmore Elementary
Marilynn Maffett

Chain of Lakes Elementary
Rosa Barahona

Churchwell Elementary
Michael Davis

Clarence Boswell Elementary
Cheri Rainer

Cleveland Court Elementary
Richele McMichael

Combee Elementary
Katie Rosell

Crystal Lake Elementary
Amanda Vargas

Dale R. Fair Babson Park Elementary
Bobby Nimmons

Davenport School of the Arts
Pat B. Redgrave

Dixieland Elementary
Clifton Wheeler

Dr. N.E. Roberts Elementary
Paula Rose

Dundee Elementary Academy
Lynne Houston

Eagle Lake Elementary
Dawn Halversen

Eastside Elementary
Cynthia Warrick

Elbert Elementary
Paula Holm

Floral Avenue Elementary
Karen Wehrle

Fred G. Garner Elementary           
Laron Rodriguez Adams

Frostproof Elementary        
Karen Campbell

Garden Grove Elementary 
Anne Pinnington

Gibbons Street Elementary 
Jane Luckett-Williams

Griffin Elementary  
Mary Clarke

Highland City Elementary  
Bennie Swisher

Highlands Grove Elementary
Lissa Bontrager

Hillcrest Elementary
Beverly Walser

Horizons Elementary           
David Sparr

Inwood Elementary 
Cynthia Ashley

James E. Stephens Elementary       
Haley Albert

James W. Sikes Elementary
Thomas Ponton

Janie Howard Wilson Elementary  
Kathryn Summerton

Jesse Keen Elementary        
Malinda Holt

Jewett School of the Arts
Dariana Cedeno

Kathleen Elementary           
Pedro Davila

Kingsford Elementary         
Elizabeth Gould

Lake Alfred Elementary     
Rosalee D. Hayes

Lake Shipp Elementary       
Elaine Scheck

Laurel Elementary   
Sonia Sotomayor

Lena Vista Elementary        
Barbara Sype

Lewis Anna Woodbury Elementary (Pk-3)           
Lois Stortz

Lewis Elementary (4-5)        
Edward Flood

Lincoln Avenue Academy   
Melissa Pixley

Loughman Oaks Elementary          
Rebecca Chea

Medulla Elementary
Morgan Little

North Lakeland Elementary           
Karen Boettcher

Oscar J. Pope Elementary   
Terrisha Honneffer

Our Children's Academy    
Jamie Boykin

Padgett Elementary 
Alana Bush

Palmetto Elementary
Tanya Vetlov-Curet

Philip O'Brien Elementary  
Alice Ann Sargeant

Pinewood Elementary          
Lauren Daughtry

Polk Avenue Elementary     
Martha Bair

Polk City Elementary          
Sybil Parker

Purcell Elementary  
Lois Stortz

R. Bruce Wagner Elementary        
Diane Novotny

Rochelle School of the Arts 
Shannon Sevingy

Sandhill Elementary
Kaeli Warren

Scott Lake Elementary        
Linda Tarleton

Sleepy Hill Elementary        
Lorena Dorantes

Snively Elementary  
William R. Slaughter

Socrum Elementary 
Anne Bernat

Southwest Elementary         
Tabbi Brooks

Spessard Holland Elementary         
Lori Morrison

Spook Hill Elementary         
Betty Blankenship

Valleyview Elementary        
Amy Harris

Wahneta Elementary           
James Hamil

Wendell Watson Elementary          
Lorraine Pavlisko

Winston Academy of Engineering  
Cedric Turgeon

Secondary Schools

Auburndale High     
Elizabeth Jane Meadows

Bartow Middle         
Teia Thagard

Bartow High 
Reba Coil

Boone Middle
Rachel Bork

Crystal Lake Middle
Kimberly Heberling

Daniel Jenkins Academy     
Davina Williams

Dundee Ridge Middle Academy     
Amy Young

East Area Adult       
Nancy Abney

Fort Meade Middle-Senior  
Aundrea Camp

Frostproof Middle-Senior   
Jacquelyn Bobb

Gause Academy of Leadership and Technology  
Nilda Rodriguez

George Jenkins High
Katy Alach

Haines City High/IB 
Racheal Kirkland

Harrison School for the Arts           
Val Walsh

Jean O'Dell Learning Center          
Karen Wehrle

Jewett Middle Academy Magnet    
Laura Varney

Karen M. Siegel Academy   
Khristine Cloud

Kathleen Middle       
Robbie Miller

Kathleen High          
Emily Gray

Lake Alfred-Addair Middle
Tiera Peabody

Lake Gibson High    
Kenneth Kramer

Lake Gibson Middle
Brittney Thompson-Self

Lake Region High    
Debra Thomsen

Lakeland Highlands Middle
Ellen Irwin

Lawton Chiles Middle Academy    
Sabina Elmasri

McLaughlin Middle & Fine Arts Academy           
Rhonda Futch

Mulberry High         
George Holstein III

Mulberry Middle      
Gina Riczko

Sleepy Hill Middle    
Elana Coulter

Southwest Middle     
Elizabeth Prokuski

Summerlin Academy
Jeff Fassett

Tenoroc High            
Dr. Lawrence Rankin

Traviss Technical College    
John B. Cuevas

Union Academy        
James Spence

West Area Adult
Bonita Murphy

Westwood Middle
Shane Wenzloff

Winter Haven High  
Julia Beswick