Florida Virtual School (FLVS) and the Florida Safety Council have teamed up to take Driver's Education to the next level! As a franchise of FLVS, Polk Virtual School also offers Drivers Education to Polk County students. Now, Polk County students can enroll in both the online Driver's Ed course and behind-the-wheel training for FREE! Students can complete the course in 6-8 weeks or can talk with their FLVS instructor about an accelerated 3-week pace plan.
Minimum age requirement of 14.5 years of age
- Create an account or sign in at Florida Virtual
- Register for Driver Education class
- Semester long course - 18 weeks or accelerated to be completed in as little as 3 weeks
- Awarded a grade and 0.5 elective credit (Satisfying the online graduation requirement)
- Receive the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Training (TLSAE) waiver (also known as DATA, DATE, or Drug and Alcohol Course) required to get permit
- Opportunity to take the permit exam online with Driversed.com completely free of charge
- Study for your General Knowledge Exam by reviewing the Florida Driver Handbook
- Make sure you’re prepared by taking a Practice General Knowledge Exam
- Take the online Learners Permit Exam ( If you are 18 or over you must take this test at the Tax Collector's Office in person.)
- Strongly Recommended
- 6 hours of Behind the Wheel (BTW) training with a certified driving instructor from Florida Safety Council free of charge
- Must hold a Florida Learners Permit to be eligible for training
- Florida Safety Council will contact students after completion of the Driver Education Course
- If you have not been contacted for your BTW training session, you may contact Florida Safety Council
- Find out more about the Behind the Wheel lessons
- Strongly Recommended
- Course is held by the Polk County Sheriff's Office
- Student must be at least 15 and not older than 20
- Must hold a Florida Learners Permit or Driver's License
- Students must provide their own vehicle
- 2 day training
- Check the Polk County Sheriff's Office website for available course dates.
Driver License (Intermediate Class E License)
- Road Tests are administered by appointment only. Click on a link below for appointment options.
- Prepare for the road test
- Make an appointment for the road test at the Tax Collector's Office
- Practice driving with an accompanying licensed driver.
- Accompanying driver must hold a valid driver license.
- Accompanying driver must be at least 21 years of age.
- Accompanying driver must occupy the closest seat to the right of the driver.
- May operate a vehicle only during daylight hours, after three months the holder of the learner's license may operate a vehicle until 10:00 p.m.
- Drivers with a Learner's license are not allowed to operate motorcycles, mopeds, or go-peds.
For more information on obtaining a learning permit or driver license, visit OMW Polk.